Parliamentary body on coronavirus to meet on April 6

Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaisar has summoned the first meeting of the 25-member parliamentary committee on coronavirus pandemic on April 6.

The National Assembly speaker had formed the 25-member parliamentary committee comprising members from both the houses of the Parliament — Senate and National Assembly — with the consultation of the government and opposition.

Advisor to Prime Minister on Finance Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh and Advisor to PM on Commerce and Industry Abdul Razak Dawood will brief the parliamentary committee about the impacts of coronavirus pandemic on the country’s economy and on the measures to be taken to revive it.

Special Assistant to PM on Health Dr Zafar Mirza and Chairman National Disaster Management Authority Lt General Muhammad Afzal will brief the committee with regards to the situation arising out of the health crisis and the steps taken for the relief of the people.

As per the Terms of Reference, the parliamentary committee would periodically review, monitor and oversee issues related to coronavirus disease and its impact on the economy.

The committee will also periodically review, monitor and oversee the implementation on National Action Plan in coronavirus disease to ensure its expeditious implementation. The committee would appoint a sub-committee to prepare detailed terms of references of the parliamentary committee in view of above and the periodical report of the committee will be presented to both the houses of the Parliament.

The parliamentary committee is headed by Speaker NA Asad Qaisar with twelve parliamentary leaders from National Assembly and thirteen from the Senate.

The committee comprises federal ministers Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Chaudhry Tariq Bashir Cheema, MNAs Khawaja Muhammad Asif, Raja Pervez Ashraf (nominee of PPP parliamentary leader), Maulana Asad Mehmood, Khalid Hussain Magsi, Nawabzada Shah Zain Bughti, Amir Haider Khan Hoti, Muhammad Akthar Mengal and Ghaus Bux Khan Mehar.

The parliamentary leaders from Senate included in the committee are senators Leader of House in the Senate Syed Shibli Faraz, Mushahidullah Khan, Sherry Rehman, Barrister Muhammad Ali Saif, Aurangzeb Khan, Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Hyderi, Sirajul Haq, Muhammad Usman Khan Kakar, Sitara Ayaz, Dr Jehanzeb Jamaldini, Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah and Anwaar ul Haq Kakar.

Federal ministers Pervez Khattak, Asad Umar and Senator Azam Khan Swati and Prime Minister’s Advisor on Finance Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh and Special Assistant on Health Dr Zafar Mirza, respectively will be ex-officio members of the committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *